

Patricia Egan, MS, MBA Interim Executive Director & CEO

## **BOARD OF DIRECTORS**

Michael Cannon, MBA Chair Nicole L. Stout, DPT, CLT-LANA Corporate Secretary Eva Sevick-Muraca, PhD Treasurer Kris L. Maser, JD Wade P. Farrow, MD, CWSP, FACCWS Past Chair Patricia Egan, MS, MBA Immediate Past Chair

## MEDICAL ADVISORY COMMITTEE

Jamie Wagner, DO, Committee Chair Wade P. Farrow, MD, CWSP, FACCWS Board Liaison Nicole L. Stout, DPT, CLT-LANA Board Liaison

Jane M. Armer, RN, PhD Marcia Beck, APRN, BC, CLT-LANA Constance M. Chen, MD Debra S. Daugherty, OTR, CLT-LANA Joseph L. Feldman, MD, CLT-LANA Mei R. Fu, PhD, RN, ACNS-BC, FAAN Jay W. Granzow, MD, MPH, FACS Jane Kepics, PT, DPT, CLT-LANA Bonnie B. Lasinski, MA, PT, CLT-LANA Marga F. Massey, MD, CLT-FACS Sheila H. Ridner, PhD, MSN, RN Kathryn McKillip Thrift, BS, CLT-LANA

## INTERNATIONAL ADVISORY COMMITTEE

Judith Casley-Smith, PhD Lymphoëdema Association of Australia

> Prof. Dr. med Ételka Földi Földi-Klinik, Germany

Prof. Dr. med Michael Földi Földi-Klinik, Germany

Waldermar L. Olszewski, MD Polish Academy of Sciences, Poland

National Lymphedema Network, Inc. 2288 Fulton Street, Suite 307 Berkeley, CA 94704

> Tel: (510) 809-1660 Fax: (510) 809-1699 Infoline: 800-541-3259

Email: nln@lymphnet.org Website: www.lymphnet.org

> The NLN is a 501(c)(3) Non-profit organization

March 3, 2016

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

## 2016 LYMPHEDEMA AWARENESS DAY AWARDS ANNOUNCED BY THE NATIONAL LYMPHEDEMA NETWORK

The National Lymphedema Network (NLN) is pleased to announce its 2016 Lymphedema Awareness Day Awards. On March 6<sup>th</sup> each year since 1994, the NLN has recognized those patients, caregivers, therapists, support group leaders, advocates, and medical professionals who have inspired and served the lymphedema community in exemplary ways.

On March 6, 1988, the NLN was founded with the mission of creating awareness of lymphedema through education and promoting and supporting the availability of quality medical treatment for all individuals at risk for or affected by lymphedema. In 1994, the NLN established its annual Lymphedema Awareness Day Award.

Over the course of 22 years, the NLN has honored more than 250 exceptional individuals who make a difference, from throughout the United States, Canada, and abroad. In addition, March 6<sup>th</sup> has been recognized as Lymphedema Awareness Day by state legislatures including California, Florida, Missouri, New York, and Virginia.

The 2016 Lymphedema Awareness Day Awards are given to:

Congressional Sponsors and Original Cosponsors of the Lymphedema Treatment Act: Representative David G. Reichert (R-WA-8), Sponsor of H.R. 1608 Representative Earl D. Blumenaur (D-OR-3), Original Cosponsor of H.R. 1608 Representative Leonard Lance (R-NJ-7), Original Cosponsor of H.R. 1608 Representative Janice D. Schakowsky (D-IL-9), Original Cosponsor of H.R. 1608 and

Senator Maria Cantwell (D-WA), Sponsor of S.2373 Senator Chuck Grassley (R-IA), Original Cosponsor of S.2373 Senator Mark Steven Kirk (R-IL), Original Cosponsor of S.2373 Senator Charles E. Schumer (D-NY), Original Cosponsor of S.2373

Gloria Thenda Beckwith, inspirational patient, Jonesboro, GA Karen Beshai, inspirational patient, Mesa, CO Traci Spohn, Mon General Lymphedema Support Group, Morgantown, WV Huyen Lu Vitale, PT, CLT-LANA, caring therapist, Clermont, FL

March is Lymphedema Awareness Month, and March 6<sup>th</sup> is Lymphedema Awareness Day. For more information about lymphedema, contact the National Lymphedema Network at 1.800.541.3259 or visit our website at <u>www.lymphnet.org</u>. For information about the Lymphedema Treatment Act, visit <u>www.LymphedemaTreatmentAct.org</u>.

Media Contact: Sam Roth Sam.Roth@lymphnet.org 510.809.1660