



9700 W. Bryn Mawr Ave., Suite 200 phone 847/737,6000 Rosemont, Illinois 60018 www.aapmr.org

May 14, 2019

fax 847/754.4368 info@aapmr.org

The Honorable Jan Schakowsky 2367 Rayburn House Office Building Washington, DC 20515

The Honorable Buddy Carter 2432 Rayburn House Office Building Washington, DC 20515

The Honorable Earl Blumenauer 1111 Longworth House Office Building Washington, DC 20515

The Honorable Mike Kelly 1707 Longworth House Office Building Washington, DC 20515

Dear Representatives Schakowsky, Carter, Blumenauer, and Kelly:

The American Academy of Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation (AAPM&R) is pleased to offer support for H.R. 1948, the Lymphedema Treatment Act. The Academy applauds the effort of this legislation to ensure access to vital compression garments for lymphedema patients seeking to improve and maintain daily function.

The American Academy of Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation is the national medical specialty organization representing more than 9,000 physicians who are specialists in physical medicine and rehabilitation (PM&R). PM&R physicians, also known as physiatrists, treat a wide variety of medical conditions affecting the brain, spinal cord, nerves, bones, joints, ligaments, muscles, and tendons. Physiatrists utilize cutting-edge as well as time-tested treatments to maximize function and quality of life. With appropriate rehabilitation, many patients can regain significant function, and live independent, fulfilling lives.

If you have any questions or require more information, please contact Reva Singh, Director of Advocacy & Government Affairs, at rsingh@aapmr.org or 847.737.6030.

Sincerely,

Nneka Ifejika, M.D., M.P.H., F.A.H.A. Chair, Health Policy & Legislation Committee

Moreta Sejeta

President

Peter C. Esselman, MD

President-Flect

Michelle S. Gittler, MD

Vice President

Stuart M. Weinstein, MD

Secretary

Deborah A. Venesy, MD

Jonathan Finnoff, DO

Past President

Darryl L. Kaelin, MD

Members-at-Large

Amy J. Houtrow, MD, PhD, MPH Kerrie M. Reed, MD Robert J. Rinaldi, MD Charlotte H. Smith, MD

Strategic Coordinating Committee Chairs

Inclusion & Engagement D.J. Kennedy, MD

Medical Education Steven R. Flanagan, MD

Quality, Practice, Policy & Research Scott R. Laker, MD

Specialty Brand Expansion Andre Panagos, MD

Ex-Officio Liaisons to Board of Governors

PM&R, Editor-in-Chief Janna L. Friedly, MD

President, Physiatrist in Training Council Justin Bishop, MD, MBA, MS

Executive Director & CEO Thomas E. Stautzenbach, CAE

