

## American Cancer Society Cancer Action Network 555 11th Street, NW

555 11th Street, NW Suite 300 Washington, DC 20004 202.661.5700 www.acscan.org

May 8, 2019

The Honorable Maria Cantwell United States Senate 511 Hart Senate Office Building Washington, DC 20510 The Honorable Todd Young United States Senate 400 Russell Senate Office Building Washington, DC 20510

Dear Senators Cantwell and Young:

On behalf of millions of cancer patients, survivors and their families, the American Cancer Society Cancer Action Network (ACS CAN) commends you for your leadership in introducing S. 518, the Lymphedema Treatment Act.

The Lymphedema Treatment Act would require Medicare to cover all necessary medical supplies appropriate for the treatment of lymphedema for beneficiaries. The Medicare program currently does not cover the critically necessary compression supplies used in the daily treatment of lymphedema. Patient access to physician prescribed compression supplies can prevent recurring infections and eventual disability in lymphedema patients. Currently, compression supplies used for the treatment of lymphedema patients are not classified under any existing Medicare benefits category.

Lymphedema affects millions of Americans nationwide, and there is currently no known cure. Patient access to medical supplies that help treat lymphedema is imperative, and important for patient quality of life. Patients who have undergone surgery or radiation therapy for cancer, namely breast cancer, may be at a high risk of developing lymphedema. Also, surgical procedures treating breast cancer often require the removal of lymph nodes which puts breast cancer survivors at an even higher risk. This is why the Lymphedema Treatment Act is so important, and we look forward to working with you on the legislation during the 116<sup>th</sup> Congress.

Thank you again for your leadership on this important issue. Please contact Stephanie Krenrich on my staff at <u>stephanie.krenrich@cancer.org</u> if we can be of assistance in any way.

Sincerely,

a. Jacane

Lisa A. Lacasse President